Super Quick Gravy

I made a roast tonight.  A regular old oven roast, not a pot roast.  So I was left to figure out what to do for the gravy.  My roast recipe had a long drawn out gravy process, and I just didn’t feel like it.  I found a Quick Gravy recipe attributed to (copied from?) startcooking.com and decided to give it a try.  Magic!  Some of the best gravy I have ever made.  Here it is:

Ingredients

  • Beef/chicken or vegetable broth
  • butter
  • flour

Pretty simple, huh?  Read on, it gets easier!

Use the rule of 2 tbs flour and 2 tbs butter per cup of broth

  1. Using your fingers or a fork (or both) mix together the flour and butter until you have a very smooth paste.
  2. Heat the broth over medium heat, and then add the butter/flour paste
  3. Turn heat to low and stir constantly until gravy thickens.

Although the recipe warns that the thickening could take up to 10 minutes, mine took all of about 3 minutes and it tasted great.  This is a super way to make small amounts of gravy.  The two cups of broth I used made more than enough for the three of us.  I also added the drippings from the roast to the broth before heating, to get that extra taste!  Best and easiest gravy I have ever made.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

