Sudado with Pork

This incredible Colombian stew is modified minutely from a recent post on My Colombian Recipes, one of the greatest sources for authentic

Sudado de Puerco

Colombian dishes.  Erica posts some of the greatest meals and has excellent serving suggestions as well.  When I saw this posted, I remembered having tried a bit of this on one of my trips to Colombia and then forgetting about it completely.  I seemed to recall that I liked it and that others recommended it when I would ask about local dishes.  Well, tonight I decided to give it a shot and the boys came out in force to help with the peeling and chopping.  The finished product was amazing.  Of all the Colombian dishes I make, I think this one may have come closest to the
“authentic” taste I have in my mind.  So thanks, Erica!  Your site is great and has been a huge resource for me.

Serves 6 (but really three because everyone will want seconds!)

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 4 boneless thick cut pork loin chops
  • 3 cups water
  • 1/2 teaspoon sazon goya with azafran
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 large tomato, chopped
  • 1/3 cup onion, chopped
  • 2 tbs garlic, minced
  • 1 scallion, chopped
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • Dash pepper
  • 2 carrots, peeled and sliced
  • 1 pound yuca, peeled and sliced
  • 4 medium red potatoes, peeled and sliced
  • Fresh cilantro, chopped

Directions

  1. Cut the pork into 1 – 1 ½ inch cubes
  2. In a large pot, heat the vegetable oil over medium heat. Add the onion and sauté until onions are translucent, about 3 minutes.
  3. Add the tomatoes, scallions, garlic, salt and ground pepper and sauté for 5 more minutes.
  4. Add the pork, water, sazon goya and cumin powder.
  5. Reduce the heat to medium low cover and cook for 25 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Use this time to prepare the vegetables.
  6. Add the potatoes, yuca, carrots and cilantro and cook covered for an additional 30 minutes or until the vegetables are tender.

I served this over white rice and would have liked to have made arepas, but ran short of energy.  There will be plenty of time to make the arepas after the vegetables are added.  I also enjoyed a nice cold beer with this.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

